Update Sept 10/2012

Alright, so I’ve got time to write this. I actually started writing Saturday night, got tired and went to bed, then got lazy on Sunday and didn’t finish it. So now it’s coming to you on Monday.

September’s come so very quickly and that means it’s time for school again, yerpee. I only finished summer school like 3 weeks ago, come on.

Attending a big university is so much different from a smaller college. Well, obviously it’s different but I didn’t realize how different it would be until I had my first day.

Biggest differences:

  1. The amount of people. There are SO MANY people. There are people EVERYWHERE. You can’t go anywhere without there being PEOPLE.
  2. The classrooms. Taking a class in a lecture hall or theatre is so much different from a traditional classroom. For one, I’m not a fan of the seating because there’s no leg room and you also have to find a place to put your backpack…
  3. Price. Holy moley.
  4. Uni is bigger and easy to get lost in.

Yeah. So my largest class is Microeconomics by far. The lecture is in a theatre and there’s so many people in that class. I got to class about 5 minutes before the 8:30 class and the place was jam-packed already. How do these people get here so early? The prof is a bit egotistical (and he knows it, he even said he was) and the course isn’t about economics, it’s about thinking like an economist. That is, putting anything and everything in terms of economic principles… and when I say anything and everything I mean anything and everything.

The good part about this is that it makes it interesting, the bad part about this is that it makes it kinda hard and random and it feels like you gotta be clever to succeed in this course.

In my Computer Design class (that’s designing computers, not designing things with computers) there’s apparently a bunch of non-computing science/non-engineering people who are registered in the course for some reason. What are you people doing? There’s like English, Econ, Communications, and “Arts” people and they’re either brave, naive, or crazy. The prof discouraged them from staying in the course.

He then proceeded to tell us about how he warned the people who took his MACM101 (discrete mathematics) just for WQB reqs (now THAT is crazy) but nobody believed him so they died cuz it’s frickin’ hard. =.=

Speaking of which, I’m taking Discrete Math again. I’m determined to pass this time. My prof seems like a pretty cool guy and already looks to be a much better teacher than my old instructor, ugh. He’s Russian.

As part of his introduction lecture he showed the grade distribution graphs for 2010 and 2011. The two most popular grades in 2010 were F and B-, and the two most popular in 2011 were F and C. That was enough to scare all dem first years, judging by all those murmurs and worried whispers. As for myself, I was like “YEP. I KNOW. CHALLENGE ACCEPTED.”

My Cognitive Science prof is the Skillcraft guy! Someone asked him what kind of research he does, and he mentioned his video game research amongst the other things he does. He was like,

“So, does anyone here play Starcraft… Starcraft 2?”

And then like two people in the class raise their hand, the guy beside me and myself, and I did so with an enthusiastic “YEEEEEEAAAH!” -> triggering amused laughter from the rest of the room.

Today I was settling into my seat in Computer Design and overheard two guys behind me talking about hotkeys and IdrA. I asked them if they played StarCraft, which of course they did, and then the guy next to me was like “DUDE YOU PLAY STARCRAFT TOO?!” And now I have three new friends ^^

Eh, I think that’s it for now.

Leave a Reply

